Our Board

Our board is voluntary and elected by members to serve a four year term under our Constitution.

Cathy Grieve (Chairperson)
Cathy joined the Board of Directors in 2014 and was elected as Company Secretary in 2016. She is also a member of the Remuneration and Governance & Nominations sub-committees. Cathy has had epilepsy since 2008. Her background is in journalism and having spent 19 years with BBC News, she set up her own media production company in 2009. Cathy was elected as Chairperson in December 2019.
Clare O'Dea
Clare joined the Board of Epilepsy Ireland in 2017. Her interest in the work of Epilepsy Ireland emerged when her son was diagnosed with a rare form of epilepsy. She brings a wealth of experience gained in corporate strategy, finance, investments, marketing and fundraising. Clare is a director of Select Strategies, a management consultancy. She holds an MBA from the UCD Smurfit Graduate Business School and a Higher Diploma in Psychology from UCD.
Mark Dowdall
Mark has served on the Board since 1999 having initially become involved as a result of a family member’s epilepsy diagnosis. He was Chairman of the Board from 2013 to 2019. He has also served on the Finance & Audit sub-committee for several years and is a former Treasurer. Mark’s professional background is in technology, financial services and banking.

Mr. Paul Kehoe (Treasurer)
Paul joined the Epilepsy Ireland Finance & Audit sub-committee in 2017 and was elected to the Board in 2018. He currently serves as Treasurer. He is an experienced accounting and finance professional who has worked for over 40 years in the Financial Services sector including many years at AIB Global Treasury.


Tony Caravousanos
Tony joined the Board of Epilepsy Ireland in 2017, having previously volunteered with Epilepsy Ireland for many years in our awareness and communications activities. Tony is an experienced advertising professional and is Account Director at the Havas agency where he has worked since 1990. He has a personal family interest in epilepsy and the work of Epilepsy Ireland.


Tessa Dagge 
Tessa has been involved with Epilepsy Ireland for almost four decades, beginning her involvement when her son was diagnosed with epilepsy at a young age. She is a former Chair of the Board of Directors. She is also a current member of the Finance & Audit sub-committee.
Paul Fahey
Paul Fahey is a qualified pharmacist and health informatics expert. He is currently VP & Head of Pharmacy Operations at Pharmapod, an e-health system for pharmacists to reduce medication errors. He has been a pharmacy owner for 25 years and has completed an MSc. in health Informatics from Trinity College Dublin. He served as the President of the Pharmaceutical Society of Ireland from 2011-2013.
Mary Fitzsimons
Mary Fitzsimons is a funded Investigator with the FutureNeuro centre at RCSI and is the Director of the eHealth Ireland Epilepsy Lighthouse Project. She was previously Principal Physicist at the Department of Neurophysics at Beaumont Hospital, where she was responsible for the development of the Epilepsy Electronic Patient Record. She has a long history in the field of epilepsy research and joined the Board of Epilepsy Ireland in 2018.
Derry Gray 
Derry, who has a family member with epilepsy, was elected to the Board of Epilepsy Ireland in 2014 and currently serves on the Remuneration sub-committee. He is a Partner and Head of the Management Consulting Department at BDO and served as the company’s Managing Partner from 2011 to 2014. He was elected as President of Dublin Chamber of Commerce in 2016.
Ambrose Kealy 
Ambrose joined the board of Epilepsy Ireland in 2018. An accountant and qualified compliance professional, he recently retired from the role of Chief Compliance Officer with VHI Group.  He holds professional memberships of the Institute of Directors, CIMA and the Association of Compliance officers and brings valuable skills to the charity in areas such as risk management, compliance, corporate governance and strategy.
Carol Saarsteiner 
Carol has been Board member of Epilepsy Ireland since 2008 and has played a key role in the charity’s fundraising and awareness-raising efforts for many years. She became involved initially when her daughter Nikki was diagnosed with epilepsy. She is also Director of a leading cargo inspection and certification business.
Dr. Joyce Senior
Dr. Senior is Director of the Professional Doctorate in Educational Psychology at UCD. She was previously a primary teacher and educational psychologist. She became involved with Epilepsy Ireland after the sudden death of her brother in 1997 and became a board member in 2002. She has published extensively on epilepsy, particularly in relation to educational needs.
Vincent Savino (President)
Vincent is a retired Irish Army Major General who has an interest in epilepsy through a family member. Vincent Savino is the Honorary President of the Association. His involvement with Epilepsy Ireland goes back to the 1980s when he played a key role in establishing fundraising activities needed to support the work of the charity.


Finance & Audit sub-committee

The sub-committee assists and advise the Board on the organisation’s finances, business activities and strategic direction.

Voluntary Members: Michael Sheehy (Chair); Mark Dowdall; Tessa Dagge; Cathy Grieve; Paul Kehoe; Tony Rhatigan, Derek Heffernan, Shane O'Brien
Staff: CEO & Finance Manager

Nominations & Governance sub-committee

The sub-committee advises the Board on all matters of governance including on the composition of the board and board recruitment.

Voluntary Members: Mark Dowdall; Ambrose Kealy; Cathy Grieve

Remuneration sub-committee

The sub-committee sets the CEO’s objectives, appraises and reports to the Board on performance and sets policy on management remuneration.

Voluntary Members: Mark Dowdall; Cathy Grieve; Derry Gray

Quality & Safety sub-committee

The sub-committee oversees accountability for quality, safety and risk management in our services and across the organisation.

Voluntary Members: Clare O'Dea; Mary Fitzsimons
Staff: CEO, Director of Services

Sustainability & Business Development sub-committee

The sub-committee assists, supports and advises the Board in ensuring that the organisation’s income generation activities are sufficient to meet the financial, strategic and operational needs of the organisation into the future.

Voluntary Members: Clare O'Dea; Carol Saarsteiner; Ambrose Kealy; Tony Caravousanos
Staff: CEO, Fundraising & Communications Manager

Epilepsy Ireland Management Team

Chief Executive, Peter Murphy
Director of Services, Tara Smith
Fundraising & Communications Manager, Vacant
Finance Manager, Andrew O’Dwyer
Training Manager, Paul Sharkey