Skip to main content

Research funding

Research Priorities

Our current 5-year Strategic Plan (2017-2021) identifies research as one of six key aims of Epilepsy Ireland.

We want to fund any area of research that has the potential to add significantly to existing knowledge into the causes, cures, care, treatment, impact and effect of any type of epilepsy, including SUDEP. We encourage proposals for all types of research including basic, clinical, psychosocial and health services research.

We focus not only on a proposal's scientific quality but also on its relevance to people affected by epilepsy and its potential to deliver tangible benefits/ outcomes to the lives of people with epilepsy through a targeted investment.

Ahead of each call for proposals, we may identify a number of specific priority research areas on which we would particularly welcome funding applications. For example, see our most recent research call (2021).

Evaluation Process

Applications received under our Research Funding Scheme undergo a rigorous review process to ensure that the charity’s fundraised monies are invested in the projects that can have the greatest impact. This involves:

  • Internal Administrative Review
  • International Peer review of applications
  • Applicant's feedback to international peer reviews.
  • Evaluation and ranking by Epilepsy Ireland's Research Peer Review Committee
  • Review by HRB/HRCI Joint Funding Scheme Selection committee .

Research Review Committee 2022

Prof Martin Brodie, Chairman

* Prof Norman Delanty, Adult neurology

Dr Danny Costello, Adult Neurology

Dr Bryan Lynch, Paediatric neurology 

Dr Cathy Madigan, Neuropsychology

* Prof David Henshall, Basic neuroscience

Prof Mark Cunningham, Basic Neuroscience

* Dr Gianpiero Cavalleri, Genetics

Dr Christine Linehan, Intellectual disability

Dr Patrick Dicker, Medical Statistician 

Cora Flynn, National Programme for Epilepsy Lead Nurse,

Dr Cian McCafferty, Electrophysiology

Ms Margaret McCahill, Patient representative/ Pharmacist

* Dr Ailbhe Benson, Patient representative

* = Not participating in 2022