Cancellation of Public Events - Important message from Epilepsy Ireland

In response to the emerging situation with COVID19 and in the interest of public safety of our members, service users and staff, Epilepsy Ireland have taken the decision to suspend all group-based events and community awareness events. This includes support groups, training programmes, self-management groups, seminars and other group-based activities. As announced yesterday, our important Purple Day (LINK) public fundraising activities have also been cancelled.

The safety of the people we support, our volunteers and our staff is of the utmost importance to us which is why we have made these difficult decisions.

We are still fully available to you and your family for individual support and information, on a one-to-one basis, by phone or via email.  Our Community Resource Officers, the areas they serve and their contact details are listed below:

-Agnes Mooney; 0749168725; 0858689433; amooney@epilepsy.ie  - Donegal, Sligo & Leitrim

-Edel Killarney; 091587640; 0858766625; ekillarney@epilepsy.ie - Galway, Mayo & Roscommon

-Cliona Molloy; 0579346790; 0858766585; cmolloy@epilepsy.ie - Offaly, Longford, Laois & Westmeath

-Veronica Bon; 061313773; 0858766629; vbon@epilepsy.ie - Limerick, Clare & Tipperary North

-Kathryn Foley; 0646630301; 0858766627; kfoley@epilepsy.ie - Kerry

-Niamh Jones; 0858766628; njones@epilepsy.ie - Cork

-Loretta Kennedy; 085766626; lkennedy@epilepsy.ie -Cork

-Miriam Gray; 0567789904; 0858766584; mgray@epilepsy.ie - Kilkenny, Wexford, Carlow, Waterford & Tipperary South

-Carina Fitzgerald; 0858766587; cfitzgerald@epilepsy.ie - Dublin, Wicklow & Kildare                                 

-Edel Curran; 0858063959; ecurran@epilepsy.ie - Dublin, Wicklow & Kildare

-Mary Baker; 0429337585; 0858766583; mbaker@epilepsy.ie - Louth, Meath, Monaghan & Cavan

-National Information Officer; Geraldine Dunne; 0858766586; gdunne@epilepsy.ie

 

As this situation develops, our services may adapt and change further as required by national risk minimisation measures. We will continue to deliver as comprehensive a service as is possible in these difficult times. Our website will continue to be regularly updated and we will also be active on social media accounts with updates and important information.

It is important to note that regarding COVID19 and epilepsy, there is no known evidence to suggest that those with epilepsy are at a greater risk of contracting the virus and that as of the present time, the Health Products Regulatory Authority have stated that they expect no supply issues of epilepsy medications.  Further information and advice on Epilepsy & Coronavirus can be found here – this article will be updated should any further advice or information become available.

Thank you for your understanding and hopefully these measures will keep you and our staff safe while also preventing an opportunity for any further spread of COVID19. We look forward to returning to normal service as soon as possible.