'PQASSO' image

In January 2015, Epilepsy Ireland achieved the Practical Quality Assurance System for Small Organisations (PQASSO) Quality Mark Level 1 for charities.

PQASSO is the leading quality standard developed for the voluntary sector, offering external verification of the quality and credibility of an organisation.The system was originally developed by the UK-based National Council for Voluntary Organisations and offers a straightforward, user-friendly approach to strengthen all areas of an organisation; used systematically, it can help an organisation run more effectively and efficiently.

PQASSO is built on 12 topics or quality areas. These are the building blocks an organisation needs to be able to operate to a high standard. They are:

  1. Planning
  2. Governance
  3. Leadership and management
  4. User-centred service
  5. Managing people
  6. Learning and development
  7. Managing money
  8. Managing resources
  9. Communications and promotion
  10. Working with others
  11. Monitoring and evaluation
  12. Results

Epilepsy Ireland's certification runs to January 2018.